SAARA Header

22. 10. 10
posted by: Johan
Hits: 195

We had a very successful 2021 SAARA National Championship that was hosted by OVL on 7 and 8 October 2022. Dispite the challanging heat wave conditoins the althletes performed very well witnessed some excellent shooting and the competition was very close. We shot the new ISSF finals format and this resulted in some exiting shooting where some of the young athletes surprised everyone as the made the experienced athletes sweat even more to earn their titles.

The 2022 National champions for the various disciplines are:

SAS 2022 02

Shani Nel - 10m Sporter Women

SAS 2022 03

Matthew Ferrreira - 10m Sporter Men

SAS 2022 04

Suné Bosfhoff - 10m Olympic Women

SAS 2022 05

AD Le Hanie – 10m Olympic Men

Congratulations to all the athletes who took part and achieved some great results and thanks to the parents and supporters of the sport for the work that went into the preparation of the athletes throughout the year. A special thanks the organisers and officials who worked behind the scenes to make a great success of this event.

Johan Pienaar - SAARA President.

22. 10. 10
posted by: Johan
Hits: 220

SAS 2022 01

Congratulations to Tanya Snyders (on the left) and Lyjani Schonken (on the right) who were selected to represent South Africa at the ISSF World Cup in Cairo in February 2023.

All of the best with your preparations. Make us proud.

22. 08. 01
posted by: Johan
Hits: 419

Lyjani 2022 Record

Lyjani Schonken is back after taking a break from shooting to complete her studies and at the 2022 SAARA Western Cape Open held on 30 July 2022 she demonstated that she means business.

Lyjani scored a 622.5 in the decimal scoring system, setting a new National Senior Ladies record in the 10M Olympic discipline and improving on the previous records by two points. This is an excellent performance with all eyes on the range on her as the spectators started anticipating a possible new record. Keep up the hard work Lyjani, there are some great opportunities opening up after the lockdown and we need all the dedicates athletes like yourself to take our team forward. We are all very proud of you.

22. 05. 16
posted by: Johan
Hits: 589

SUHL 2022 Sune

She did it again. Suné Boshoff set a SAARA National Junior Ladies record in the 10M Olympic discipline at the 2022 ISSF Junior World Cup in Suhl, Germany on 10 May 2022. Congratulation Suné,

Suné scored a 615.5 in the decimal scoring system. This is an excellent performance under tough international conditions, shooting shoulder to shoulder with the best junior athletes in the word. Keep it up Suné, your hard work and dedication is reflected in your performance and we are all very proud of you.


200px SASSCO Logo